M-Five GmbH Mobility, Futures, Innovation, Economics
Fon: +49 721 824818-90
Fax: +49 721 824818-91

102580 Santa Monica BLVD Los Angeles +3 045 224 33 12

Follow Us on

International project

Project: Value chains of a climate friendly automotive industry in Germany

Client: European Climate Foundation (ECF), Brüssel
Duration: 11/2015 – 10/2017
Partner: Cambridge Econometrics (Lead), ElementEnergy, M-Five

The project is focusing on the economic impacts of a decarbonisation of the German car fleet and a corresponding transition of the automotive industry. Project objective is a quantification of economic impacts. The project is supported by a stakeholder group involving automotive, energy and chemical industries as well as associations from industry, consumers and environmental protection.

The economic analysis is undertaken by Cambridge Econometrics applying their E3ME model for Germany to assess economic impacts of different scenarios of diffusion of alternative propulsion technologies for cars, variants of oil prices as well as modifications of value chains. Future technology cost of technologies to be implemented in low carbon cars are derived from technology databases of ElementEnergy and agreed by the stakeholder group.

M-Five analysed the potential modifications of value chains of major technologies to be implemented in low carbon cars, i.e. Lithium-Ion Batteries (LIB) and lightweight construction in particular using fibre reinforced plastics such as those building on carbon fibres. Further we brought the German perspective into the international project team. Our analysis of value chains is presented by two working paper:
Also available for download are the Final Report of the study and the Summary Report.

Also available for download are the Final Report of the study and the Summary Report.

< Back to international projects

M-Five GmbH Mobility, Futures, Innovation, Economics
Fon: +49 721 824818-90
Fax: +49 721 824818-91

102580 Santa Monica BLVD Los Angeles +3 045 224 33 12

Follow Us on

Internationales Projekt

Projekt: Innovative Wertschöpfungsketten der Automobilindustrie zur Produktion klimafreundlicher PKW in Deutschland

Auftraggeber: European Climate Foundation (ECF), Brüssel
Laufzeit: 11/2015 – 10/2017
Partner: Cambridge Econometrics (Leitung), ElementEnergy, M-Five

Im Zentrum des Projektes steht die Frage der ökonomischen Auswirkungen der Umstellung der deutschen PKW-Flotte und der Produktion der Automobilindustrie in Deutschland auf klimafreundliche PKW. Ziel ist eine Quantifizierung der ökonomischen Auswirkungen. Das Projekt wird begleitet von einer Stakeholder-Gruppe mit Akteuren der Automobil-, Energie- und Chemieindustrie sowie von Verbänden aus dem Industrie-, Umwelt- und Verbraucherschutzbereich.

Zur Analyse der ökonomischen Auswirkungen wird das gesamtwirtschaftliche Modell E3ME von Cambridge Econometrics eingesetzt, um verschiedene Szenarien der Technologiediffusion mit alternativen Antrieben, von unterschiedlichen Ölpreisen sowie von unterschiedlichen Wertschöpfungsketten zu berechnen. Die zukünftigen Fahrzeugkosten der verschiedenen Antriebstechnologien werden mit Hilfe der Technologiedatenbanken von ElementEnergy abgeschätzt.

M-Five hat für das Projekt die potenzielle Veränderung von Wertschöpfungsketten der für die Dekarbonisierung zentralen Technologien untersucht, nämlich Lithium-Ionen-Batterien und Leichtbau, insbesondere mit faserverstärkten Kunststoffen wie Karbonfasern. Außerdem brachte M-Five die deutsche Perspektive mit in das internationale Projektteam. Unsere Analyse der Wertschöpfungsketten ist in den folgenden zwei englischen Arbeitspapieren dokumentiert:
Der Endbericht der ökonomischen Analyse liegt vor als Klimafreundliche Autos in Deutschland: Ein Überblick der sozioökonomischen Auswirkungen.

Download: Full Technical Report

< Zurück zu den internationalen Projekten